Volksforum.com

Go Back   Volksforum.com > Nederlands > Techniek en Tuning Luchtgekoeld > Type 1 (kever '49->)
User Name
Password
Home FAQ Register Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 19-02-2007, 04:04
Forum Newbee

Default '65 importeren naar NL of achter laten in VS?

Hi,

Newbie here with some non-technical, but bug specific, questions so this is probably the forum to ask in.

My name is Jeroen and I'm Dutch but have almost always lived buitenlands - currently in Wichita, Kansas in the USA. Learned to speak & read Dutch from my parents but never had lessons so haven't learned to write it yet & have to look in a dictionary for the spelling of most word Feel free to reply in Dutch as I need all the practice i can get. I may be moving to the Netherlands (or at least Europe) late this year or next. This is mostly to be closer to my parents as they are getting old & I miss them.

I bought a '65 bug late last year with less than 81,000 original miles (130,000 km) on it before it was garaged in 1988 by the previous owners. So far it appears to be in remarkable, original condition with minimal obvious rust except the running boards which are easy enough to replace to make it a driver. It has a replaced deck lid, old vw rebuilt engine and 1 replaced rear fender but the front & rear apron have never been hit. No major dents or rust. It had a dealer installed air-co that had long since leaked it's life blood into the atmosphere so i removed it. Whoever installed it went crazy with all the holes they drilled but that can be fixed someday. After a little work it runs long enough to drain the battery but still have lots more to do to make it a driver. Probably paid too much for it but she's mine now and I like her a lot.